

PRESS RELEASE

SADC condemns the attempted coup d`état in the Democratic Republic of Congo

20th May, 2024, Gaborone, Botswana: The Southern African Development Community (SADC) condemns in its strongest terms the attempted coup d`état that happened on 19 May 2024 in Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), after gunmen tried to attack the homes of senior officials of the DRC government including that of President Félix Tshisekedi.

While condemning this act of violence, SADC wishes to extend its appreciation to the DRC army for having arrested the perpetrators and ceased any escalation that could have occurred from this unfortunate incident.

SADC is guided by the Protocol on Politics, Defence and Security Cooperation, which aims to promote peace and security in the region, protect the region's people from instability due to the breakdown of law and order, develop a common foreign policy for the region, and cooperate on matters related to security and defence. Based on this, SADC urges Member States to adhere to this Protocol. The SADC encourages the international community to continue supporting the DRC people.

For general enquiries:

Media enquiries, • Ms. Barbara Lopi, Head of Communication and Public Relations at the SADC Secretariat, email, <u>blopi@sadc.int</u> with a copy to <u>prinfo@sadc.int</u>

.....

SADC in Brief

SADC is an organisation of 16 Member States established in 1980 as the Southern African Development Coordinating Conference (SADCC) and later, in August,1992 transformed into the Southern African Development Community (SADC). The mission of SADC is to promote sustainable and equitable economic growth and socio-economic development through efficient, productive systems, deeper cooperation and integration, good governance and durable peace and security; so that the region emerges as a competitive and effective player in international relations and the world economy. Member States are Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Issued by the SADC Secretariat Gaborone, Botswana

20th May, 2024